Northerly…

It is that time of year for these winds but I haven’t seen one in the week since I’ve been home. My 5am walk was thick already with salt air and sticking to my skin. I was just about to run for cover when I noticed a movement on the surface not 1km from the shore. Again the whales were back. It’s late for their trip south but I’m happy for that as I get to see them passing. I remember a long time ago, I was with a good friend on a jet-ski off the Alley and we saw some humpback whales approaching.  We turned off the ski and were hoping they would come and say hello. They did, they are massive and they knew we were there. I was, scared is not the word, ummm, worried they might get nervous with us in their way but when they swam to within a few meters of us and literally surfaced and LOOKED at us, all my fears diminished and it was one of those amazing feelings you only get so often. For me that was a once in a lifetime thing. I swear to good its eye was taking us in and greeting us. Radical! I’ll have to ask Luke if he remembers that the same way as I do! Arrh, god, another whale memory coming to mind… This one perfect morning with an absolutely flat ocean, no wind and baking hot, with the whales breaching and carrying-on, we went swimming. They must have only been 150 meters from the shore and when you dived under the ocean you could hear them talking to each other as clear as anything. I remember trying to stay under the water for as long as I could to hear as much as was sounding in my ears….

See you tomorrow.

Sun up time…

Its getting lower in the sky every day…

Just about to leave and I saw this..

and as they swam sth, this..

and this, which brought back my memories of our close encounter.

