The last morning of 2012

Firstly a massive thanks to all of you for checking out my blog. I love doing it and will keep so until I leave in a few months. Currumbin is a magical place. It always has been for me. Since we were kids a lot of things have changed here. It went from a quite, beautifully sleepy beach that had a fish and chips shop (which I worked in) with pinnies out the back and a Hawaiian burger with chips and a milkshake only cost 3 bucks, a SLSC with NO public bar, although we treated it like one, no million dollar houses and the BEST and I do mean THE BEST Pub in the world sitting around on the Estuary just to name a few of the things not here anymore.  I do think that if you didn’t get pissed in that bar and you are over 35 you are not a local of Currumbin. To all the people not with us anymore to enjoy life, I will toast a beer for you in a few hours time. Fond memories of great people. In a small town its a very special feeling seeing people everyday, that  you wagged school with, riding the 8mins to the Alley  with teachers yelling threats of a caning, to surf pumping uncrowded waves on bikes with no brakes, rusty chains and NO helmets. Went to dollar night at the Patch and ran down the stairs in the middle of the beach to escape a disgruntled taxi driver. Too many stories for now. One day I will pen a read on my early days in Currumbin but for now enjoy this evening and rock into the New Year with all the energy and success we all deserve.

I will end the year with a banging day surfing with the kids and getting sunburnt before afternoon beers watching the sun set over the valley and waiting for the orange moon to lazily rise up while drinking beers on the rock surrounded by my girl and close friends lounging in armchairs… It couldn’t be more perfect.

                                                                                                                     HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! 

This is a part of the reason why our Gold Coast beaches are so clean.

This is a part of the reason why our Gold Coast beaches are so clean.

Brings out the minerals.

Brings out the minerals.

Go GCCC.

Go GCCC.

A sneaky and PUMPING little left.

A sneaky and PUMPING little left.

Out there people.

Out there people.

Am I giving away where it is?

Am I giving away where it is?

Grom sized barrels.

Grom sized barrels.

Im out there with a nine year old.. His perfect!

I’m out there with a nine-year old.. His perfect!

With these banks, watch out for the flash rips.. Swim in the flags.

With these banks, watch out for the flash rips.. Swim in the flags.

The Local Surf shop assistant from LAME gets a quick one in.

The Local Surf shop assistant from LAME gets a quick one in.

The water colour here has been amazing. Walkers loving the last day of the year.

The water-colour here has been amazing. Walkers loving the last day of the year.

