Gale Force.

Well, to say its windy right now would be the understatement of the century. Its blowing its tits off. I don’t think I have seen it this windy  here in a long time  and the direction would have to be the worst possible coming in from the east. Its blowing straight into the land of the beach here  in Currumbin and moving a lot of sand in between the torrential downpours of horizontal rain. Ex-tropical cyclone Oswald is playing up.  The lights were out in Tugun and all along the Gold Coast Highway  in Palm Beach for most of the afternoon and thousands of leaves and branches coming down to be obstacles on the already slippery and dangerous roads. I was hesitating even taking my camera out in the ran but, of course, I did,.. I will be up early to watch the tide coming in and the swell peaking. I was trying to put a size on it this afternoon before dark and I couldn’t. It was breaking in slow motion and so far out that the visibility hid the true seriousness of this swell.  I was dodging power lines, branches and even trees as well as poor motorists to bring you todays pics from the car as I simply could not go out into the open without some form of protection.

I am tipping that tomorrow morning the beaches will be eaten away and more rocks exposed then in many years. We will see.

ps.. It was so windy and raining that I couldn’t get a shot of the waves.. Tomorrow,.. I hope..

 

Much needed on a day like this.

Much needed on a day like this.

Pandanus fronds where blowing everywhere.

Pandanus fronds where blowing everywhere.

The roof of the toilets blown off.

The roof of the toilets blown off.

Tree on a power line.

Tree on a power line.

Everywhere were leaves and branches.

Everywhere were leaves and branches.

Even a local tree bites it.

Even a local tree bites it.

In between downpours.

In between downpours.

thecurrumbin-4403

Horses in the rain.

Horses in the rain.

Swelling creeks.

Swelling creeks.

Luckily the tides are not so big at the moment.

Luckily the tides are not so big at the moment.

But still big enough.

But still big enough.

Little rights, right up in the creek.

Little rights, right up in the creek.

Yewww.

Yewww.

Little Chopes..

Little reverse Chopes..

Good for the mice.

Good for the mice.

The bridge..

The bridge..

The creek was getting blown away.

The creek was getting blown away.

Just one of the trees I saw broken in half.

Just one of the trees I saw broken in half.

