The big Nor-easter…

Last night around 2 o’clock the building I live in shook.I woke up with a start and got up to look around. It was gale force outside but nothing aparently wrong so I decieded to go for a walk across to the corner to see what devostation was going on. I got as far as 2 meters from my door. The horizontal rain was sheeting down like machine gun fire. The wind was averaging at 95kms an hour and radio told me this morning that it was gusting to 130km’s. The sounds the norfolk pnes were generating were ghostly and in the darkness I could make out how far they were swaying in the grimness of what has been a major weather event. After drying off I went back to bed and drifted off in between shakes and groans and noises I’ve not heard before.

I was up at 5 and nothing had changed. Still the same relentless conditions. I drove to the Alley but couldn’t really capture much for fear of wetting my cameras. I got home and ran down to the slsc, gaining entry in between the surging incoming tide washing around the club and into the carpark.

Well, it was madness. The electicity had gone off around 11 last night everywhere around Currumbin. The club work crew were racing about madly trying to block up doors from teh surging waters. The SLSC crew were doing the same with sandbags and the like but nothing could stop the 3 ft waves ravaging the club. There were waves washing through the carpark breaking at waist high. There was the standard idiots car in the carpark, onlookers risking their well-being to get up close and personal to mother natures fury. I heard along the whole east coast of QLD that more than 200mm of rain has fallen just yesterday and some places had had more than 1meter int he same time. I have been waiting for a nor-east crossing low for a few years now and here it is.. I hope its another 15 or so years until the next one.  Anyway, enough of my rambles, here are my pics and I even shot some video but that will need more time and a quiet dry place. Stay safe Queenslanders and be wary tomorrow as they are calling FLOODS…

ps. I did this on a PC  becasue the power is still out on the beaches and as I don’t know my way around it there are some spelling mistakes and the like. Sorry for that.

The run out early.

The run out early.

The creek swelling and this was 3 hours before the high.

The creek swelling and this was 3 hours before the high.

And already full of branches but the rad thing is the tide is coming IN. Just wait until its going out.

And already full of branches but the rad thing is the tide is coming IN. Just wait until its going out.

Tree branches evreywhere.

Tree branches evreywhere.

Yep, early days.

Yep, early days.

Signs and branches..

Signs and branches..

thecurrumbin-4465

A beautiful tree nearly landing on parked cars.

A beautiful tree nearly landing on parked cars.

Lucky.

Lucky.

Bridge pylons covered and still hours till the high..

Bridge pylons covered and still hours till the high..

The lady through the windsheild.

The lady through the windsheild.

The erosion starting.

The erosion starting.

The councils fence. If only they had asked someone, anyone..

The councils fence. If only they had asked someone, anyone..

Nothing was holding back this stuff.

Nothing was holding back this stuff.

There is always one.

There is always one.

I wonder how his electrics will hold up?

I wonder how his electrics will hold up?

Frechwater meets saltwater causing this foam.

Frechwater meets saltwater causing this foam.

Risking his I-phone.

Risking his I-phone.

The fence still up.

The fence still up.

It was a spectacle.

It was a spectacle.

I was watching this corner getting worse and worse.

I was watching this corner getting worse and worse.

Sometimes it was neck deep.

Sometimes it was neck deep.

Opps...

Opps…

Eating out the sand with every surge.

Eating out the sand with every surge.

Getting worse.

Getting worse.

Just waiting to go.

Just waiting to go.

Too much water.

Too much water.

Sometimes the Alley would dissapear from veiw.

Sometimes the Alley would dissapear from veiw.

Very very very messy.

Very very very messy.

Whipping up over the dunes.

Whipping up over the dunes.

I zoomed in on th ebreaking wave out to sea and its a full blown broken wave. It must be 800meters off the shoreline. MONSTEROUS

I zoomed in on th ebreaking wave out to sea and its a full blown broken wave. It must be 800meters off the shoreline. MONSTEROUS

IT nearly looks surfable on some.. NOT!

IT nearly looks surfable on some.. NOT!

Not even the sets and the carpark was filling up.

Not even the sets and the carpark was filling up.

Run son run.

Run son run.

Was a good veiw from up here but very wet.

Was a good veiw from up here but very wet.

Looking south.

Looking south.

She is starting to go.

She is starting to go.

In-between surges I risked my camera..

In-between surges I risked my camera..

The concrete slab starting to let go.

The concrete slab starting to let go.

It was lifting every time a wave went past.

It was lifting every time a wave went past.

The club captain who was working hard being watched.

The club captain who was working hard being watched.

thecurrumbin-4592

Anyone under there.

Anyone under there.

yea, this stupid guy.. but I would love to see his photos...

yea, this stupid guy.. but I would love to see his photos…

Good bye dunes.

Good bye dunes.

It finally went.

It finally went.

Look a little like tree skiing.

Look a little like tree skiing.

Wind gusts.

Wind gusts.

A severe pounding.

A severe pounding.

The other piece went earlier. Where will this end up?

The other piece went earlier. Where will this end up?

Looks kinda inviting.

Looks kinda inviting.

Not really.

Not really.

Wave after wave.

Wave after wave.

I don't think I have seen one like this... So strong.

I don’t think I have seen one like this… So strong.

Wouldn't like to be out there.

Wouldn’t like to be out there.

Reece and Reddog in awe.

Reece and Reddog in awe.

Through the sand.

Through the sand.

I wonder what the banks will be like after this..

I wonder what the banks will be like after this..

I imagine councils clean up bill will be huge.

I imagine councils clean up bill will be huge.

Faom foam foam.

Faom foam foam.

Club captain doing his best.

Club captain doing his best.

Fences everywhere gone..

Fences everywhere gone..

and there goes part two..

and there goes part two..

Just after the high.

Just after the high.

our lovely sand all gone.. snif snif.

our lovely sand all gone.. snif snif.

The foam was everywhere.

The foam was everywhere.

Maybe some of the noises from last night.

Maybe some of the noises from last night.

Still standing.

Still standing.

