RIP Beaver.

This mornings hangover was brightened by the sunrise. Even though I missed the real light show I thought to myself that today would be a good day. The surf was up a little as the direction swings more east and it was offshore. On my travels around I was hurrying along as I wanted to get wet when I bumped into a friend at the Alley. He gave me some dreadful news that a Palmy guy called Beaver was dead. Suicide, last night. While I was never a close friend of him, loads of times I had a beer with him here or there and watched him slide into many many waves with a smile on his face. He had his problems (we all do) and they finally got the better of him. After hearing the news I went for a surf at the Alley and as I jumped off the rock this bigger set rolled through and as the tide was high I was too far out to catch any of them. I sat there for 25 mins waiting for the next one. I thought a lot about Beaver. I only surfed with him the other week. Could I have said something to have helped him?? Who knows.. I like to talk and listen. I only wish that he could have known there were ears there for him. Suicide…. I hate the word, I hate the thought and I hate everything about IT!!! To all his family and friends that I know are grieving right now, my heartfelt condolences. I heard there is a paddle-out on Thursday at 9.00am at 25th ave Palmy.. I will confirm that later in the week.

Beavs, I hope you are in a better place than what you thought here was for you. I silently shouted for you on a set this morning…. and it was a good one!

What I thought was the start of a good day.

What I thought was the start of a good day.

Sunrise over cooly.

Sunrise over cooly.

Enjoying the moring and being alive.

Enjoying the morning and being alive.

Close out??

Close out??

Make-up pre shooting.

Make-up pre shooting.

Calm...

Calm…

Loving being here. Both of them.

Loving being here. Both of them.

Up the beach.

Splitting it up the beach.

There is alot of sand missing still.

There is a lot of sand missing still.

Nothing like a good book.

Nothing like a good book.

Looks inviting?

Looks inviting?

Not much sand here either.

Not much sand here either.

A perfect bar crossing.

A perfect bar crossing.

It got better with the outgoing tide.

It got better with the outgoing tide.

