Let there be sun….

The sun was trying to come out all day today. It even managed more than a few minutes this afternoon. I was busy running around getting organised for my big trip but managed to get a few shots of the shorey in. Again a very high level out there and that bank is hanging in. How I don’t know as that massive rip is moving so much sand around it’s a joke! I can’t help but imagine it without all this wind.. What a light south-westerly would do…..

The Quik Pro was on down at Rainbow and the surfing was amazing. I watched a few heats online and thought for the most part that the scores where accurate and the best surfer won their heats, all except for the Parko/Wilko one. Judges, don’t go .04 under the needed score.. I don’t have the expertise that the pro guys have in judging but I recon I’m pretty good and Parko got the short straw. I wonder if it’s just showing him that now he is the Champ, he needs to lift on every scoring wave or they will mark down.. Either way he was ripping as was Wilko and in saying that Brent as well. I could be reading into this a but too much but I think that Pottz has it in for Parko.. His commentary was biasly  for Wilko and he gave nothing to the Champ.. I think the commentators should be neutral and for the most part are but today was a joke!  That said, full marks boys and lets see the high standard of surfing continue. (come on Taj, you had the turn of your heat and looked in flow but lacked another wave!!! You lost to the ocean not the competitor today – best of luck in round two!) I’ll get down there if the sun is out tomorrow and have a look around.

 

Melling,.. yesterday arvo. I think one of the best surfers on tour.

Melling,.. yesterday arvo. I think one of the best surfers on tour.

Military.

Military.

That right bank is still there.

That right bank is still there.

This morning and the sun trying to break through.

This morning and the sun trying to break through.

The foul weather didn't stop everyone from getting out and about.

The foul weather didn’t stop everyone from getting out and about.

Looking sinister over cooly.

Looking sinister over Cooly.

This afternoons sun..

This afternoons sun..

This afternoons crowd.

This afternoons crowd.

This guy was ripping. 1

This guy was ripping. 1

2

2

Nearly.. 3

Nearly.. 3

So was this guy.

So was this guy.

KA-

KA-

Boom...

Boom…

and this girl as well.

and this girl as well.

Tandom surfing.

Same surfing, completely different styles.

Hippo.

Hippo.

Girl.

This girl was getting all the good ones.

Currumbin's head chef lining one up.

Currumbin’s head chef lining one up.

and getting faded!

and getting faded!

Up there!!!

Up there!!!

Turn.

Turn.

Hippo with a one...

Hippo with a one…

two..

This wave is too small for Hippo… two..

Finished..

Finished..

So close for this one.. 1

So close for this one.. 1

2

2

3

3

4

4

5

5

6

6

But nailed this one.

But nailed this one.

Work time..

Work time..