A weekend’s misery…turned around…

My god!! Friday night was horrible! I missed an incredible day knocking back a few beers with some great friends, a massive night out with some other of the real ones, all swapped for cold sweats and sleepless dreams of thoughts I don’t know where or how or why they came from. Sometimes sorrowful, other times not! It was not a fun one and on Saturday morning I wondered, groggy down to the SLSC for a lemon/ginger/honey hot water to try to quell the burning of my chaffed throat, to see the most perfectly fun left hander reeling off from out the back to the shore. It was exactly how I like it. 3-4ft of sunshine, barreling fun. I was so dizzy and uninspired I didn’t even take my camera from its bag for a surfing photo.. I tried to have a paddle and after not being able to duck dive one wave, due to lack of energy, came back ashore and home to bed! It was a shocking start to my last weekend here in Beautiful Currumbin.

After another wasted day, I had to get out of the bedroom and mustered all my strength to go for a walk alone the beach. I am so happy that I did for a few reasons. One, I cleared my head. Two, I lucked onto the right light for a couple of nice long exposures and Three, I stumbled onto a technique I have wanted to do for a long time. So after getting home, wringing the sweat out of my shirt and showering I slept right through to 5.30 Sunday and got up to get the sunrise. It was a long day today but the pillow will be good in a few hours when I hit it, a little sunburnt but feeling a whole lot better than yesterday!

I realised also that its good to get out and do something instead of brooding at home feeling sorry for yourself and for me, that afternoon walk kicked this flu’s arse. I would never had gone for that walk without my camera and that great feeling of going through the few shots I took and loving them all! I will put ALL the shots I took up as later I can remember how, when and why I took them!

 

My first frame of the afternoon.

My first frame of the afternoon.

I was going for the reflection.

I was going for the reflection.

Still too light for too long a exposure but I was warming up.

Still too light for too long an exposure but I was warming up.

The good old gap!

The good old gap!

Trying to find the right height!

Trying to find the right height!

A bit lower.

A bit lower.

I just LOVE this shot!!

I just LOVE this shot!!

and this one!!!

and this one!!!

Now the light was dimming off....

Now the light was dimming off….

and I found a good angle!

and I found a good angle!

Then I tried this technique...

Then I tried this technique…

then the opposite!

then the opposite!

An out of focus dog pole on the way home..

An out of focus dog pole on the way home..

A bright SLSC!

A bright SLSC!

5.45..am

5.45..am

Seagulls, a 70-200 and slow exposure...

Seagulls, a 70-200 and slow exposure…

Another...

Another…

Reflections.

Reflections.

Trying... but too late.

Trying… but too late.

So I tried another technique.. Did it work??

So I tried another technique.. Did it work??

1

1

2

2

3

3

4

4

5

5

6

6

7

7

8

8

9

9

10

10

11

11

12

12

13

13

14

14

15

15

16

16

17

17

Lastly, these guys were catching loads of fish.. They must be on the bite!

Lastly, these guys were catching loads of fish.. They must be on the bite!