A big weekend

In 1991 Garth, Lindso and I were going to see Pearl Jam Live in Brisbane. I had a big, bad and LOUD pioneer stereo and we went and bought their new album, TEN. We smelt the fumes of the guys next doors weed, and went and lay on the grass outside the apartment. We had the stereo on full and lay and listened to the whole album. Start to finish, track after every god dam amazing track we lay there. Then later that night we went to see them live. It sounded exactly as the disk did except that Vedders personality live is something that can never be put onto a CD.  I re-live this story because last night I saw them again. 23 years ago they blew my mind and last night they did the exact same thing. They were as tight as I’ve ever heard any band and still after all these years, Vedder rocked the free world with an energy only a few possess. I took my 35 Rollei to the gig, but i made a mistake and lost 36 frames. I guess like in 1991 I will have to just leave this one in the memory bank.

Now, for today. On a hungover ride to the alley, the surf was nearly epic all up and down the beach. The waves came up to 5-6ft but the wind was puffing from the east north-east bumping the faces and ruining what could have been an incredible days surf. The Alley seems to have its bank back and even though it was bumpy had a lot of ripable waves. I am hoping that the wind backs off for the morning and with the lower tide early there could be some off the front. Maybe, just maybe, like in 1991.

 

A solid nugget out the front.

A solid nugget out the front.

Devil wind...

Devil wind…ish..

The trip back.

The trip back.

Banks coming back.

Banks coming back.

Morning swim.

Morning swim.

The guts.

The guts.

Out the front of the rock.....

Out the front of the rock…..

A legend never dies.

A legend never dies.

Masterful!

Masterful!

I saw this bloke walk past after just surfing this.. I had to have a chat and I am so happy I did. Great bloke stoked to have this.. I would be too! Al, living on!

I saw this bloke walk past after just surfing this.. I had to have a chat and I am so happy I did. Great bloke, stoked to have this.. I would be too! Al, living on!

